Software Engineering Immersive

at General Assembly - Penn Quarter

(2504)
Course Details
Price:
$15,950 25 seats
Start Date:

Mon, Apr 20, 9:00am - Jul 14, 5:00pm (60 sessions)

Next start dates (1)

Location:
Penn Quarter
509 7th St NW 3rd Fl
At E St NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20004
(Map)
Share:
Important:
A computer will not be provided.
No class on May 25 & July 3
Description
Class Level: All levels
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 20

Flexible Reschedule Policy: This provider has flexible, free rescheduling for any-in person workshop. Please see the cancellation policy for more details

What you'll learn in this all software training:

This is a Full Time Course

You will Learn Leading-Edge Skills for Software Engineers

Programming Fundamentals
Understand how to assemble your development environment, work efficiently as an engineer, and ensure your projects are a success. Learn programming fundamentals, along with the basics of computing, networks, and data structures.

Product Development Basics
Pinpoint what a user should be able to accomplish with your application, model your data accordingly, develop simple wireframes, and track a collaborative development process using version control.

Front-End Web Development
Gain an understanding of how to write high-quality JavaScript code, building a dynamic, front-end to a web application using a modern JS library, such as Angular or React.

Back-End Web Development
Learn to build web applications from the ground up using a modern web language and framework (like Ruby on Rails or Python and Django). Develop high-quality APIs using Node.js and integrate data from other apps (such as Twitter or Yelp) into your project.

Team Collaboration Strategies
Discover how to effectively communicate and collaborate with development teams. Produce high-quality software as you work with a team to build, maintain, change, and secure a full-stack application.

By the end of our Software Engineering Immersive, you will be able to:
  • Create responsive web pages for modern browsers using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.
  • Write full-stack applications and deploy them to cloud-based services like Heroku.
  • Demonstrate programming and computer science fundamentals, as well as software engineering best practices.
  • Consume web application programming interfaces (APIs) from third-party sites such as Twitter, Google, or Yelp.
  • Build a RESTful API using a technology like Sinatra, Rails, Django, or Express.
  • Build a richly interactive, front-end single-page application using a modern framework like Angular or library like React.
  • Collaborate as a team using Git and GitHub, widely accepted collaboration practices, and an Agile development workflow.
  • Implement common data structures encountered in technical interview situations, such as linked lists and trees.
  • Solve algorithm challenges and analyze the computational complexity of algorithms using Big O notation.
Immersive Student Life
Each full day of expert-led instruction incorporates a mix of presentations, interactive labs, and collaboration to offer a hands-on, project-based approach to learning. Here's an example of what your schedule could look like as an Immersive student. (Times may vary based on location.)

9 A.M. Review - Group Work
  • Daily recaps and code exercises reinforce newly learned concepts and skills.
10 A.M. Lecture - Instructor-Guided Lessons & Activities
  • Learn key objectives through expert-led lectures, discussions, and exercises.
12 P.M. Lunch - Review Session (Optional)
  • Recap morning coursework.
2 P.M. Labs & Exercises - Student-Guided Group Activities
  • Practice new skills, work on independent or group labs, and dive deeper into the day’s key topics.
5 P.M. One-on-Ones - Personalized Support
  • Reach your educational goals with individualized attention from instructors.
6 P.M. Homework - Assignments & Projects
  • Complete homework, projects, and review exercises with help from evening TAs.

Remote Learning

This course is available for "remote" learning and will be available to anyone with access to an internet device with a microphone (this includes most models of computers, tablets). Classes will take place with a "Live" instructor at the date/times listed below.

Upon registration, the instructor will send along additional information about how to log-on and participate in the class.

School Notes:
For students enrolling in 12 week part time and immersive classes, it is not recommended that you book more than one class simultaneously.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
If you can't make it to a class/workshop, please email us at [email protected] at least 7 days before the scheduled event date. No refunds will be given after this timeframe.

Map

Google Map

General Assembly

All classes at this location

Start Dates (2)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora 60 $15,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Apr 21 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Apr 22 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Apr 23 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Apr 24 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Apr 27 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Apr 28 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Apr 29 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Apr 30 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, May 01 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, May 04 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, May 05 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, May 06 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, May 07 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, May 08 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, May 11 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, May 12 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, May 13 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, May 14 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, May 15 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, May 18 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, May 19 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, May 20 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, May 21 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, May 22 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, May 26 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, May 27 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, May 28 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, May 29 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jun 01 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jun 02 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jun 03 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jun 04 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Jun 05 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jun 08 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jun 09 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jun 10 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jun 11 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Jun 12 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jun 15 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jun 16 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jun 17 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jun 18 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Jun 19 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jun 22 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jun 23 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jun 24 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jun 25 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Jun 26 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jun 29 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jun 30 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jul 01 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jul 02 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jul 06 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jul 07 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Wed, Jul 08 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Thu, Jul 09 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Fri, Jul 10 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Mon, Jul 13 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora
Tue, Jul 14 9:00am - 5:00pm John Serrao, Hammad Malik, Isha Arora

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 159500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Reviews of Classes at General Assembly (2,489)

Similar Classes

School: General Assembly

General Assembly

General Assembly is a pioneer in education and career transformation, specializing in today’s most in-demand skills. The leading source for training, staffing, and career transitions, we foster a flourishing community of professionals pursuing careers they love.

What began as a co-working space in...

Read more about General Assembly

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified DC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.